Housebroken opens at Riverside on Friday. Join me?

HOUSEBROKEN_Barbie_1_posterIf you’re in the Iowa City area, I want to invite you to see my new solo show, Housebroken, at Riverside Theatre. If you’re not in the area, I’ll still invite you so as not to appear rude.

Housebroken is an existential crisis disguised as a hilarious comedy about buying a house. Our hero, conveniently named Megan Gogerty, sets forth to upgrade her family’s digs only to find herself questioning who she is and what she values when everything goes wrong. It’s funny and sad, but mostly funny.

It’s also a love letter to Iowa City and the weird-os (like me) who live here. If you’re not super-familiar with Iowa City, hopefully you’ll have a great time. But if you’re an Iowa City resident, you’ll have a super-amazing-fabulous time. (I hope. Fingers crossed.)

Notice I say “she” up in that paragraph? I mean, of course it’s me. It’s semi-autobiographical, which means every word is true except the parts I made up.

The show opens on Friday and runs for three weeks. It’s directed by my friend and longtime-collaborator, Alexis Chamow, who flew all the way from ho-hum Los Angeles to work at the exotic Riverside Theatre. She is amazing. Together, we’ve cooked up a bunch of little surprises that will hopefully delight you as much as they do us.

I’ve poured my heart into this one, gang. It would mean the world to me if you came to see it. And maybe tell your friends?

The basics:


Housebroken: April 10-26

7:30 Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays, 2PM Sundays

Riverside Theatre box office: (319) 338-7672 (noon-4pm)

213 N. Gilbert St., Iowa City 52242

http://boxoffice.printtixusa.com/riversidetheatre/eventcalendar

Megan Gogerty in Housebroken. Photo by Bob Goodfellow.

Megan Gogerty in Housebroken. Photo by Bob Goodfellow.

About megangog

Playwright. Monologuist. Songwriter. Delightful Person.
This entry was posted in Theatre and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

